Production of exhibition catalogue made easy


While sorting photos of a recent exhibition using iPhoto on an Apple Mac I explored the ‘book’ option in this free software. After selecting one of the many layout templates it was easy to populate the pages with images. The basic image editing tools in iPhoto also helped to improve the look of the pictures significantly. After tweaking the templates and adding the images and some text, I only needed to press the ‘buy’ button and through my Apple account the prove of my catalog was on its way to be printed. This is just another example of a web2 based production method.

iPhoto-book-highlights-09

iPhoto book interface

The price of about $25 (Australian) for each copy is good if one needs only a few copies instead of hundreds to make a traditional print-run viable. I also used a pdf export of this catalog to get 20 copies printed locally, the price was comparable but the quality of the ‘Apple’ print was superior. You can download (500KB) a low res pdf of this catalog.

I have now a lasting document that helps with promoting my work and a little giveaway for everyone who supported my work. In the process I also registered as a publisher and this booklet has an ISBN. This might sound like a lot of effort for a little 30 page publication, but this catalog documents my recent ‘highlights‘ exhibition, which in turn represented the outcome of an intensive period of research and work as part of my professional practice.

6 Responses to “Production of exhibition catalogue made easy”


  1. 1 Riona 20/06/2009 at 3:57 AM

    Thanks providing the booklet for download! Maybe I’ll have a chance to see your work in real some day.

  2. 2 theresa 10/12/2010 at 2:42 PM

    greetings,

    i came across this post while searching for a template for an art exhibition catalog. this looks excellent. can you tell me which template you used in photo? if so, thanks.

    thank you for sharing this info and providing a close-up example.

    best regards,
    theresa

    • 3 virtualterritory 10/12/2010 at 9:42 PM

      Hi Theresa,
      thank you for your comment. I used the ‘Medium softcover iPhoto Book’. You might browse through all the editing options, as many elements like font colours and size can be customized. I spend a bit of time on the images themselves (cropping, contrast, colour shifts etc). However when I changed the text on page one the same formatting was applied to the whole book, throwing out some of the fitting of the text on pages I had done previously.
      I would recommend to ‘print’ it out to pdf (easy on a Mac) to proof the final result and have it as digital copy. It is great fun and easy to put a book together also a great promotional tool.
      I understand Apple has add many new templates and variations in their latest version of iPhoto, you might like to check on the iPhoto website. Cheers Gilbert


  1. 1 Quick link page for designer makers « virtualterritory Trackback on 24/09/2009 at 6:20 PM
  2. 2 Quick link page for designer makers | Off Topic Design Trackback on 19/06/2010 at 12:08 PM
  3. 3 Production of exhibition catalogue made easy | Off Topic Design Trackback on 19/06/2010 at 6:54 PM

Leave a Reply

images of work

More Photos

categories


